Call for Submission: New Tallinn Dissertation Prize from ESEH

The European Society for Environmental History (ESEH) welcomes submissions
for the 2019 Tallinn Dissertation Prize in European Environmental History

The Tallinn Dissertation Prize was established by the ESEH Board in 2018 to reward innovative doctoral dissertations based on original research in European environmental history. The Prize was named after Tallinn, the city where it will be awarded for the first time at the 10 th ESEH Biennial Conference in 2019. The Dissertation Prize aims at supporting early career scholars based in Europe or based outside Europe but working on a European topic. Through the Prize, ESEH wants to encourage young scholars to get more involved in the community of environmental historians in Europe. We intend the prize to enhance the visibility of PhD students and post-docs in environmental history and the environmental humanities, and strengthen inter-generational ties within the ESEH. Doctoral dissertations defended in 2015, 2016, 2017 or 2018 are eligible for the Prize. To be eligible, the dissertation must originate at an institution in a country covered by ESEH Regional Representatives (see or must deal with a European topic. ESEH especially encourages submissions with an interdisciplinary focus as well as transnational and comparative perspectives, including, but not limited to, Europe’s impact on the global environment. Submissions in any language are welcome.

The winner will receive a monetary award of EUR 500 as well as a travel grant (if needed) to attend the 10th ESEH Conference from August 21–25, 2019 in Tallinn, Estonia. If you need financial travel assistance to come to Tallinn, please inform us in your submission.

The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2019. Applicants are asked to submit their dissertations, including a short CV, as preferably a single PDF file by email to If the language of the dissertation is not English, please also submit an extended (ca. 20,000 characters) summary in English. The winner of the Prize will be notified by April 30, 2019.

Members of the 2019 Tallinn Dissertation Prize Committee:

  • Gabriella Corona (chair; National Research Council, Institute of Studies on
    Mediterranean Societies, Naples, Italy)
  • Ellen Arnold (Ohio Wesleyan University, USA)
  • Elena Kochetkova (National Research University Higher School of Economics, St.
    Petersburg, Russia)
  • David Moon (University of York, UK/Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan)
  • Viktor Pál (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email