Minutes of the 10th Ordinary General Meeting of the European Society for Environmental History

Tallinn, Estonia, 22 August 2019

Attendants

103 ESEH members attended the OGM. The constitutional quorum of 10 per cent of paying members, which equates to 25, is thus met.

Call

The date and venue of the OGM were regularly communicated to all members by email on 8 July 2018, thus more than 40 days in advance as required by the Society's constitution.

Agenda

- 1. Opening of the meeting by the President
- 2. Presentation of Minutes of the 9th Ordinary General Meeting, Zagreb, 29 June 2017
- 3. President's report on the development of ESEH
- 4. Report by the Chair of the Council of Regional Representatives
- 5. Treasurer's report on budget 2017–2019
- 6. Report by the Financial Control Committee
- 7. Vote on constitutional amendment on the election of Board members (see details below)
- 8. Vote on creation of new regions 1) Ukraine; 2) North Macedonia; and 3) Croatia, Serbia and Slovenia (see details below)
- 9. Discharge of the outgoing Board Members and Regional Representatives
- 10. Report by the Nomination Committee and election of the new Board Members, Regional Representatives, and Financial Control Committee members (see details below)

1. Opening of the meeting by the President

The meeting was duly and formally opened by the outgoing President, Peter Szabo, at 18:00.

2. Presentation of Minutes of the 9th Ordinary General Meeting, Zagreb, 29 June 2017

The outgoing Secretary, Giacomo Parrinello, presented the minutes of the 2017 OGM, available for perusal on the ESEH website. The minutes have been approved by the OGM by raise of hands.

3. President's report on the development of ESEH

The President read her report on the Society's development, which will be included in the ESEH 2017-2019 Biennial Report.

4. Report by the Chair of the Council of Regional Representatives

The Chair of the Council of Regional Representatives presented his report on the activities of the RRs, which will be included in the ESEH 2015-2017 Biennial Report.

5. Treasurer's report on budget 2017-2019

The outgoing Treasurer, Ulrich Koppitz, read his report on the 2017-2019 budget, which will be included in detail in the ESEH 2017-2019 Biennial Report.

6. Report by the Financial Control Committee

Dominik Collet, representing the Financial Control Committee, communicated that the Committee had found all the Treasurer's accounts to be in order for the whole 2017-2019 period. The FCC asks the assembly to dismiss the Treasurer and the rest of the outgoing Board and Regional Representatives with a vote of confidence. No votes were called against this resolution. The 2017-2019 ESEH Board was duly discharged.

7. Vote on constitutional amendment on the election of Board members

The Board proposed two Constitutional amendments for consideration and approval by the 10th Ordinary General Meeting of the Society.

The Board suggests to reform the Constitution of the European Society for Environmental History to better specify the process by which Board members are elected. As it is, the Constitution lacks any mechanism for dealing with a possible tie (same number of votes for two or more candidates) as a result of a vote. At the moment, a tie vote means that the given Board position cannot be filled, which jeopardizes the functioning of the entire Society. Therefore a mechanism is needed that is able to deal with such an event quickly and effectively. To provide this mechanism, the Board suggests amending the text of the Constitution as follows. Proposed new text in **bold**. ('They' and 'these officers' in paragraph 7.3 refers to Board members):

"7.3 They shall be elected at the OGM by a simple majority of those voting. **In case of a tie, the winner shall be drawn by lot.** These officers cannot simultaneously hold other functions within the Board. The President, the Vice-presidents, and the Secretary are eligible to be re-elected for only one further term in the same office. All these elections can be contested elections (see 13.4.2)."

The amendment was passed by the OGM by raise of hands.

8. Vote on creation of new regions 1) Ukraine; 2) North Macedonia; and 3) Croatia, Serbia and Slovenia

The Board presented two proposals to create two new ESEH regions: Ukraine and North Macedonia. The Board also received a third proposal to merge the existing regions of Croatia and Serbia and to add Slovenia, thus creating the ESEH region Croatia, Serbia and Slovenia. The Board carefully considered the proposals and found them well-written and sound. Therefore, the Board requested the OGM to vote in favour of these proposals.

The OGM approved the three proposals.

9. Discharge of the outgoing Board Members and Regional Representatives

The outgoing board requested formal discharge to the OGM. The OGM approved and formally discharged the outgoing board.

10. Report by the Nomination Committee and election of the new Board Members, Regional Representatives, and Financial Control Committee members

The Nomination Committee presented the candidates for election and proceeded to open the voting process. The election of Board members, Regional Representatives, and members of the Financial Control Committee was done by secrete bulletin.

The counting of the bulletins was done by the members of the Nominatiosn Committee (Kati Lindström, Ana-Isabel Queiroz, Christian Rohr), with the supervision and assistance of ESEH members Petra van Dam and David Moon. The results have been communicated via email to the outgoing Secretary and to the outgoing and incoming Treasurer and are listed below.

11.0ther business

No other business was presented for discussion by any member of the Society. The OGM ended at 20:00.

Results of the election

The results of the election, as communicated by the president of the Nomination Committee to the Secretary Giacomo Parrinello and the Treasurer Ulrich Koppitz on August 23, 2019, are as follows:

President: Marco Armiero

Vice-Presidents: Andrea Gaynor and Wilko Graf von Hardenberg,

Secretary: Elena Kochetkova

Treasurer: Ulrich Koppitz

Financial Control Committee: Chantal Camenisch and Agnes Limmer Kneitz

RR Australasia: Ruth Morgan

RR Benelux Countries: Tim Soens

RR Croatia, Serbia and Slovenia: Žiga Zwitter

RR Czechia and Slovakia: Doubravka Olšáková,

RR France: Charles-François Mathis

RR German Speaking Countries: Martin Knoll

RR Great Britain and Ireland: Chris Pearson

RR Greece: George L. Vlachos

RR Hungary: András Vadas

RR Israel: Yaron J. Balslev

RR Italy: Giacomo Bonan

RR North Macedonia: Aleksandar Shopov

RR Poland: Małgorzata Praczyk

RR Romania: Calin Cotoi

RR Russia: Anastasia Fedotova

RR South Africa: Muchaparara Musemwa

RR Spain: Santiago Gorostiza

RR Ukraine: Tetiana Perga