

Call for Papers

Fourth Annual Israeli Conference on Environmental History

16 October 2017, Tel Aviv

The Israeli Forum for Environmental History invites all those interested in the interaction of humans and their environment over time to its fourth annual conference. The conference aims to facilitate the presentation of new research in environmental history by scholars from all disciplines and to advance the creation of local, regional, and international scholarly connections.

Proposals for papers may treat any region and culture, on a wide variety of topics, including the history of environmental organizations and movements, environmental thought, urban environments, pollution, human-animal relations, landscapes, environmental contexts of the economy, and more. The organizing committee invites proposals from all disciplines, including cultural, social, economic, political, and military history (and so on); historical geography; architecture; archaeology; history of science; and art history.

The conference will take place on Monday, 16 October 2017, in the Steinhardt Museum of Natural History at Tel Aviv University. The Museum – the Israeli national center for biodiversity research – will open its doors to the public in the summer of 2017 with a series of exhibits. The Museum is committed to encouraging curiosity, discovery, and learning about nature through excellence in scientific research, education, and exhibitions, and through enriching the knowledge and enjoyment of the broad public.

Scholars (including graduate students) are invited to submit proposals for individual paper presentations or for panels. Paper proposals should be up to 250 words and include the name of the presenter, contact information, and institutional affiliation. Panel proposals should include up to 3 paper proposals as well as a title for the panel and the relevant information on the panel organizer.

Proposals should be sent by 2 April 2017 to: israelenvtlhist@gmail.com.

Notification of acceptance will be send by email by mid-May.

The organizing committee: Maya Duany (chair), Avivit Agam-Dali, Nurit Kirsh, Alon Sapan, David Schorr, Dan Tamir