Minutes from the Ordinary General Meeting of the European Society for Environmental History, SAS Radisson Falconer Centre, Frederiksberg, Denmark, 6th August 2009, 17.00-18.30 pm

Attendants: 63 ESEH members (of 119 not in arrears) have signed the attendance list.

Chair: Geneviève Massard-Guilbaud, ESEH-President

Agenda:

- 1. Opening of the meeting by the President.
- 2. President's report on development of ESEH (activities undertaken).
- 3. Treasurer's report on budget 2007-2009.
- 4. Report by the Financial Control Committee.
- 5. Presentation Biannual Report by Secretary.
- 6. Discharge of the outgoing Executive Board and Regional Representatives who step down.
- 7. Voting on constitutional reform.
- 8. Report by the Nomination Committee
- 9. Elections
- 10. Various
- Ad 1) President Geneviève Massard-Guilbaud opens the meeting and presents the agenda.
- Ad 2) President reports on the development of ESEH and activities undertaken by the Board 2007-2009, indicating that a written version of this report will be published on the ESEH website as appendix to the Biannual Report.
- Ad 3) Treasurer Ulrich Koppitz reports on the finances of the society in the years 2007 to 2009, particularly on the budget for 2008 and 2009. The Financial Report will be published as part of the Biannual Report on ESEH-website.
- Upon request by the treasurer the OGM votes on the maintenance of the membership fees on the current level (20,- € (10,- € students) /a). The maintenance is approved by the assembly without dissentient vote or abstain.
- Ad 4) On behalf of the Financial Control Committee Phia Steyn reports on the cash audit. Financial Control Committee has no objections against the cash management by the Treasurer.
- Ad 5) Secretary Martin Knoll presents the Biannual Report, particularly stressing the membership development, the website and other means of societal information. The entire Biannual Report will be published on ESEH website.

Ad 6) OGM discharges the outgoing Executive Board (President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer) without dissentient vote or abstain. OGM also discharges the outgoing Regional Representatives Leos Jelecek, Timo Myllyntaus and Lajos Racz without dissentient vote or abstain.

Ad 7) The President reports on the proposed constitutional reform highlighting the most important changes. Members had been informed in advance (mailings, H-Environment, website). A draft of the new constitution had been posted on the website. The President also indicates last changes as approved by the Board meeting on 5th August.

OGM approves the revised constitution without dissentient vote or abstain.

Ad 8) The Chair of the Nominating Committee, Julia Lajus, reports on the nomination process and introduces the candidates as follows:

President:

Prof. Geneviève Massard-Guilbaud (EHESS Paris, France) - re-election

Vice-Presidents (2 positions):

Prof. Mauro Agnoletti (University of Florence, Italy) – re-election

Prof. Christof Mauch, (LMU / RCC Munich, Germany)

Dr. Stephen Mosley (Leeds Metropolitan University, United Kingdom)

Prof. Petra van Dam (VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands) – re-election

Secretary:

Dr. Phia Steyn (University of Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom)

Treasurer:

Ulrich Koppitz (University of Duesseldorf, Germany) – re-election

Regional Representatives:

Czechia and Slovakia: Prof. Leos Jelecek (Charles University, Praha, Czechia) – re-election Hungary: Andrea Kiss (University of Szeged, Hungary)
Nordic countries: Dr. Finn Arne Jørgensen (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)

Financial Control Committee:

Dr. Franz Mauelshagen (Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities Bielefeld, Germany)

Fredrik Björk (Malmö University, Sweden)

The candidates present themselves in short statements.

Ad 9) The President proposes ballot voting of President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer and RRs. OGM approves the proposal without dissentient vote or abstention.

The ballot voting of President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer is counted by Leos Jelecek, Laurence Lestel, David Moon and Dieter Schott; ballot voting on Regional Representatives is counted by Adriaan de Kraker and Christian Rohr. The Secretary presents the following results:

President:

Genevieve Massard Guilbaud

Voters: 60 yes: 58 no: 0 abstain: 2

Vice-Presidents (two positions):

Voters: 60 (two votes each) Christof Mauch: 49 (elected) Petra van Dam: 41 (elected)

Stephen Mosley: 15 Mauro Agnoletti: 13

Abstain: 2

Secretary:

Phia Steyn

Voters: 60 yes: 60 no: 0 abstain: 0

Treasurer:

Ulrich Koppitz

Voters: 60 yes: 60 no: 0 abstain: 0

Regional Representatives:

Leos Jelecek

Voters: 60 yes: 49 no: 6 abstain: 5

Andrea Kiss

Voters: 60 yes: 56 no: 3 abstain: 1

Finn Arne Jørgensen

Voters: 60 yes: 54 no: 5 abstain: 1

Financial Control Committee (voted by showing of hands):

Franz Mauelshagen

Voters: 60 yes: 60 no: 0 abstain: 0

Frederik Björk

Voters: 60 yes: 60 no: 0 abstain: 0

No recount is required by the assembly. All elected candidates accept their election.

Ad 10) Timo Myllyntaus, Head of the Local Organising Committee of the 2011 ESEH Conference in Turku, reports on the preparatory work.

President closes the meeting at 18.57 pm.

Frederiksberg, 6th August 2009

Martin Knoll, ESEH Secretary