Minutes of the Ordinary General Meeting of the European Society for Environmental History held on Friday, 23 August 2013 from 17:00-18:45 in Munich, Germany

Attendants: 116 ESEH members present which means that the quorum was met.

Chair: Christof Mauch, ESEH President

Agenda:

- 1. Opening of the meeting by the President
- 2. Minutes of the Ordinary General Meeting, Turku, 1 July 2011
- 3. President's report on the development of ESEH (activities undertaken 2011-2013)
- 4. Report by the Chair of the Council of Regional Representatives
- 5. Treasurer's report on budget 2011-2013
- 6. Report by the Financial Control Committee
- 7. Presentation of the Biannual Report by the Secretary
- 8. Voting on constitutional reform
- 9. Discharge of the outgoing Board Members and Regional Representatives
- 10. Report by the Nomination Committee and Election of the new Board Members and Regional Representatives
- 11. Various

1. Opening

President Christof Mauch opens the meeting and presents the agenda.

2. Minutes of the Ordinary General Meeting, Turku, 1 July 2011

Minutes are adopted by a show of hands. No person abstained/objected to the adoption of the minutes.

3. President's report on the development of ESEH (activities undertaken 2011-2013)

The President reports on the development of ESEH and activities undertaken by the Board between 2011 and 2013 highlighting in particular the tremendous growth of the ESEH during this period. Specific growth points were the holding of annual ESEH Summer Schools (Italy, 2011, France 2012, Russia 2013 and Switzerland 2013), the creation of Arcadia in cooperation with the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, and the launch of a publication series with Berghahn Books and the Carson Center.

1

4. Report by the Chair of the Council of Regional Representatives

Christian Rohr, the chair of the CRR, explains how the CRR functions and provides a short overview of the most important activities undertaken by the Regional Representatives. Special mention is made of the 85% growth in membership between 2011 and 2013 during which period ESEH membership increased from 425 members to 788.

5. Treasurer's report on budget 2011-2013

Ulrich Koppitz, the ESEH Treasurer, reports on the finances of the society for the years 2009

6. Report by the Financial Control Committee

adopted by majority vote of 100 in favour, 7 objected and 9 abstained.

The ESEH Financial Control Committee consists of Dr Ulrike Plath and Dr Martin Knoll. They reported that after scrutinising the finances of the ESEH, they have no objections to the way the Treasurer manages the finances. There report was adopted by majority vote; there was one abstention and no objection.

7. Presentation of the Biannual Report by the Secretary

Phia Steyn, Secretary of the ESEH, presents the Biannual Report. The report will be published on the ESEH website.

8. Voting on constitutional reform

The proposed 9 constitutional changes were adopted unanimously by the OGM.

9. Discharge of the outgoing Board Members and Regional Representatives

The OGM discharges the outgoing Board Members (President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer) without a dissenting or an abstaining vote. The OGM also discharges the

outgoing Regional Representatives Marco Armiero (Italy), Finn Arne Jørgensen (Nordic countries) and Andrea Kiss (Hungary).

10. Report by the Nomination Committee and Election of the new Board Members and Regional Representatives

Martin Schmid, the chair of the Nominating Committee, reports on the nomination process and introduces the candidates as follows:

President: 1 nomination

Dolly Jørgensen, Rachel Carson Center for Environmental Studies, Umea, Sweden

<u>Vice-President:</u> 4 nominations – 2 positions vacant

Marco Armiero, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Julia Lajus, European University at St. Petersburg, Russia

Timo Myllyntaus, University of Turku, Finland

Bo Poulsen, Aalborg University, Denmark

Secretary: 1 nomination

Wilko Graf von Hardenberg, Rachel Carson Center, Munich, Germany

Treasurer: 1 nomination for re-election

Ulrich Koppitz, University of Dusseldorf, Germany

Financial Control Committee:

Dominik Collet, Heidelberg University, Germany Martin Knoll, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany

Regional Representatives

Baltic countries: Ulrike Plath, University of Tallinn, Estonia

Hungary: Dénes Sálata, Szent István University, Gödöllö, Hungary

Italy: Giacomo Parrinello, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA

Nordic Countries: Mikko Saikkui, University of Helsinki, Finland

Portugal: Inês Amorim, Porto University, Portugal

Candidates for the Board positions present themselves in short statements.

Voting for all the positions with the exception of the Financial Control Committee is conducted by ballot. The latter was conducted by a show of hands. The ballots are counted by Phia Steyn, Ulrich Koppitz, Finn Arne Jørgensen, Andrea Kiss and David Moon. Martin Schmid presents the following results:

President:

Dolly Jørgensen

116 voters: 111 = Yes; 2 = No; 3 = Abstain

<u>Vice-President:</u> 2 positions vacant

116 voters – 2 votes each

Marco Armiero = 44

Julia Lajus = 74 (elected)

 $Timo\ Myllyntaus = 49$

 $Bo\ Poulsen = 62$ (elected)

Secretary:

Wilko Graf von Hardenberg

116 voters: 113 = Yes; 1 = No; 2 = Abstain

Treasurer:

Ulrich Koppitz

116 voters: 115 = Yes; 0 = No; 1 = Abstain

Financial Control Committee:

Dominik Collet

116 voters: 111 = Yes; 1 = No; 4 = Abstain

Martin Knoll

116 voters: 113 = Yes; 0 = No; 3 = Abstain

Regional Representatives:

Baltic countries: Ulrike Plath

116 voters: 107 = Yes; 1 = No; 8 = Abstain

Hungary: Dénes Sálata

116 voters: 104 = Yes; 1 = No; 11 = Abstain

Italy: Giacomo Parrinello

116 voters: 106 = Yes; 2 = No; 8 = Abstain

Nordic Countries: Mikko Saikkui

116 voters: 107 = Yes; 1 = No; 8 = Abstain

Portugal: Inês Amorim

116 voters: 106 = Yes; 2 = No; 8 = Abstain

No recount is required by the assembly. All elected candidates accept their election.

The newly elected ESEH President, Dolly Jørgensen, closes the meeting at 18:45.

Phia Steyn

ESEH Secretary

Stirling, 3 October 2014