

International Committee for the History of Technology

Global forum for historians of technology since 1968

www.icohtec.org @icohtec

Prizes of the International Committee for the History of Technology, ICOHTEC

MAURICE DAUMAS PRIZE - ICOHTEC'S ARTICLE PRIZE

The International Committee for the History of Technology, ICOHTEC, welcomes submissions for the Maurice Daumas Prize, which aims to encourage innovative scholarship in the history of technology. ICOHTEC is interested in the history of technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches. The prize will be awarded to the author of the best article submitted which deals with the history of technology in any period of the past or in any part of the world and which was published in a journal or edited volume in 2016 or 2017. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in (or later translated into) any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish).

Submissions are welcomed from scholars of any country who are currently in graduate school or have received their doctorate within the last seven years. Please send your submission and a brief (not to exceed one-page) cv to each of the six Prize Committee members no later than **15 January 2018**. Electronic submissions are preferred. The winner will be contacted in late April 2018. The prize will be awarded at our 45th Symposium, to be held in St Etienné, France, in summer 2018 (17-21 July 2018). The winner will receive a cash prize of Euro 500 as well as a travel grant of Euro 300 (if needed) to attend the ICOHTEC Symposium, which will feature a special panel organized around the winning article. The Daumas Prize is sponsored by the Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France.

PRIZE COMMITTEE

Maria Elvira Callapez, PI. Dr., [Prize Committee Chairperson] CIUHCT, Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal Email: <u>mariaelviracallapez@gmail.com</u>

Antoni Roca-Rosell, Dr. Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya Barcelona, Catalunya, Spain Email: <u>antoni.rocarosell@upc.edu</u>

Eike-Christian Heine, Dr. Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany Email: <u>eikechristian.heine@googlemail.com</u>

Hermione Giffard, Dr. University of Utrecht, The Netherlands Email: <u>hgiffard@gmail.com</u> Laurent Heyberger, Dr. Université de technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France Email: <u>laurent.heyberger@utbm.fr</u>

Liliia Zemnukhova, PhD Sociological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences (SI RAN), St. Petersburg, Russian Federation Email: <u>I.zemnukhova@gmail.com</u>

MAURICE DAUMAS (1910 - 1984) - The French Trailblazer

The history of technology would never have become a prominent field of historical research without energetic pathbreakers. Maurice Daumas was one of them. One of his better known early works is Les instruments scientifiques aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, which was also published in English. Between 1962 and 1978, he edited a highly acclaimed history of technology, Histoire générale des techniques, in five volumes, which has been translated into English and Spanish, and used as a textbook in various countries. In France, Daumas was also the pioneer of industrial archaeology. Daumas was the first secretary general of ICOHTEC and the host of its symposium at Pont- à- Mousson in 1970. For further information about Daumas:

http://www.persee.fr/web/revues/home/prescript/issue/rhs_0151-4105_1984_num_37_3

For information about ICOHTEC: <u>http://www.icohtec.org</u>

TURRIANO ICOHTEC PRIZE

The Turriano ICOHTEC Prize for books on the history of technology (formerly ICOHTEC Prize for Young Scholars) is sponsored by the Juanelo Turriano Foundation and consists of 2,500 Euro. The prizewinning book will be presented and discussed at a special session of the next ICOHTEC symposium, in Saint-Étienne, France, from 17-21 July 2018 (http://www.icohtec.org/annual-meeting- 2018.html). An additional 500 Euro is available to the winner in support of travelling to the conference to receive the prize. ICOHTEC, the International Committee for the History of Technology, is interested in the history of technology, focusing on technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. The history of technology covers all periods of human history and all populated areas. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

Eligible for the prize are original book-length works in any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish) in the history of technology: published or unpublished Ph.D. dissertations or other monographs written by scholars who, when applying for the prize, are not older than 37 years. Articles and edited anthologies are not eligible. For the ICOHTEC Prize 2018, please send an electronic copy (Pdf or Word) of the work you wish to be considered for the prize to each of the four Prize Committee members. (Note: Hard copies are only accepted for published works not available electronically.)

Your submissions must be emailed no later than Friday, **2 February 2018**. Please also include an abstract of no more than half a page in length. If your book is in Spanish or Russian, please also supply a summary in English, French or German of about 4,500 words. In that case, the prize

committee will find additional members, who are familiar with the language in which your book is written. If the work is a Ph.D. thesis, it should have been accepted by your university in 2016 or 2017; if it is a published work, the year of publication should be 2016 or 2017. The submission should be accompanied by a CV (indicating also the date of birth) and, if applicable, a list of publications. Applicants are free to add references or reviews of the work submitted. Please, consider that any materials sent to the prize committee will not be returned. You are invited to send a complete application by email to each of the following Prize Committee members:

Prof. Hans-Joachim Braun, Prize Committee Chairperson Helmut Schmidt Universitaet Fakultaet GeiSo H1-2219 D- 22039 Hamburg E-mail: <u>hjbraun@hsu-hh.de</u>

Prof. Ernst Homburg Maastricht University Department of History Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences P.O. Box 619 6200 MD Maastricht E-mail: <u>e.homburg@maastrichtuniversity.nl</u>

Dr. Irina Gouzevitch Centre Maurice Halbwachs École Normale Supérieure 48, boulevard Jourdan 75014 PARIS E-mail: <u>irina.gouzevitch@ens.fr</u>

Dr. Klaus Staubermann Principal Curator of Technology National Museums of Scotland Chambers Street 10 Edinburgh EH1 1JF UK E-mail: <u>K.Staubermann@nms.ac.uk</u>