Call for Submissions: Turku Book Prize 2023

  • by

The European Society for Environmental History (ESEH) and the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society (RCC) are pleased to announce the Turku Book Prize in environmental history.

The Turku Book Prize is intended to identify and encourage innovative and well-written scholarship in the field of European environmental history and carries a prize of € 3,000. The prize will be awarded at the 12th Biennial ESEH Conference to be held in Bern, Switzerland on August 22-26, 2023.

To be eligible, books must be:
• single author
• published between January 1, 2021 and December 31, 2022. rooted in the discipline of environmental history
• written on a primarily European topic
• ideally written by a European author or an author affiliated with a European University

Applicants are asked to submit three copies* of the monograph by mail to the Rachel Carson Center in Munich, as well as a digital copy (preferably a PDF file) to If the monograph is written in a language other than English, please include a one-page English summary. Monographs must be received by January 15, 2023.

Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society
Turku Book Prize
Leopoldstrasse 11a
80802 München, Germany

Download the call in pdf here.

Members of the 2023 Turku Prize Committee are:
• Ulrike Plath (chair), Tallinn University, Estonia
• Katie Ritson, Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, Munich, Germany
• Marcus Hall, University of Zurich, Switzerland
• Nicolai Hannig, Darmstadt Technical University, Germany
• Violette Pouillard, French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France/Ghent University, Belgium

Photo by Olena Sergienko on Unsplash