Turku Book Award 2015

The third ESEH/RCC Turku Book Award was conferred at the 8th biennial ESEH Conference, 30 June – 3 July 2015 to Gregory T. Cushman for his book Guano and the Opening of the Pacific World: A Global Ecological History (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2014). Below you may find the award committees full laudation of the book.

The award committee consisted of Helmuth Trischler (RCC/Chair), Robert Emmett (RCC), Patrick Kupper (RCC), Finn Arne Jørgensen (ESEH), and Julia Lajus (ESEH)

The other finalists were:

  • Deborah R. Coen, The Earthquake Observers: Disaster Science from Lisbon to Richter, University of Chicago Press, 2012 (published after the 2015 Turku Book Award nomination deadline)
  • Jens Lachmund, Greening Berlin: The Co-Production of Science, Politics, and Urban Nature, MIT Press, 2013
  • Clapperton Mavhunga, Transient Workspaces: Technologies of Everyday Innovations in Zimbabwe, MIT Press, 2014


Print Friendly, PDF & Email