Turku Book Award 2017

The fourth ESEH/RCC Turku Book Award was conferred at the 9th biennial ESEH Conference, 28 June – 2 July 2017 to William M. Cavert, for his book  The Smoke of London: Energy and Environment in the Early Modern City, Cambridge University Press, 2016.

The selection committee consisted of Verena Winiwarter (Chair; Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt), Jane Carruthers (University of South Africa), Arielle Helmick (RCC), Jan-Heinrich Meyer (University of Copenhagen), and Ellen Arnold (Ohio Wesleyan University)

2017 Finalists were:

To read the full laudation from the award speech by Verena Winiwarter, including contributions from Arielle Helmick and Jane Carruthers based upon the discussions of the Turku Prize committee, click here.