Turku Book Award 2017

The European Society for Environmental History (ESEH) and the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society (RCC) are pleased to announce the Turku Book Award in environmental history. The Turku Book Award is intended to identify and encourage innovative and well-written scholarship in the field of environmental history and carries a prize of € 3,000.

The prize will be awarded at the Ninth Biennial ESEH Conference to be held in Zagreb, Croatia, 28 June–2 July 2017.

To be eligible, books must be single-author and have been published in 2015 or 2016. Books may be nominated by authors, publishers, or members of the ESEH. Preference will be given to books that focus on Europe and/or to authors who are affiliated with European institutions. Applicants are asked to submit three copies of the monograph by mail to the Rachel Carson Center in Munich, as well as a digital copy (preferably a PDF file) to assistants[at]carsoncenter.lmu.de. If the monograph is written in a language other than English, please include a one-page English summary. If the book’s publication model makes it difficult to provide three hard copies of the monograph (e.g. print on demand, open access) please email carsoncenter[at]lmu.de for further advice. Monographs must be received by 15 December 2016 31 January 2017.

The committee consists of:

  • Verena Winiwarter (Chair; Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt)
  • Jane Carruthers (University of South Africa)
  • Arielle Helmick (Rachel Carson Center)
  • Stefan Dorondel (Institute for Anthropology Francisc J. Rainer)
  • Ellen Arnold (Ohio Wesleyan University)

A downloadable updated version of this announcement is available here.

Edit: The call’s details have been updated on 25 October 2016 in response to requests from scholars whose monographs will be published in December 2016 or in alternate publication formats.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email